Uncategorized

What this is all about.

Autism_Awareness_RibbonAs someone who has mainly blogged for themselves  before today, stepping out and blogging for other people is something that I am uneasy about. I liked the privacy of knowing that my blog posts were mine and no one could see my inner thoughts but, now the University of Oregon is forcing me to step outside my comfort zone. Into the world of blogging. As much as this concerns me I must remember the words from one of my favorite movies The Princess Diaries, “Courage is not the absence of fear, but rather the judgement that something else is more important than fear. The brave may not live forever, but the cautious do not live at all.” So I am going to find my courage and live a little.

My blog is going to focus on a lot of things but mainly the subject of Invisible Illness and Healthcare. Invisible Illness is defined by wikipedia as “Invisible Illnesses are chronic illnesses and conditions that significantly impair normal activities of daily living. In the United States, 96% of people with chronic medical conditions show no outward signs of their illness, and 10% experience symptoms that are considered disabling.” Healthcare and Invisible Illnesses go hand and hand because we understand very little about both of them. Healthcare is such and complex topic and many things fall under it so it seemed appropriate to use the umbrella of healthcare to talk about the ever growing problem that is invisible illnesses.

 

 

Leave a Reply

